Call for Papers

RTNS 2020 – Call for Papers – the submissions for the main conference are now over, you may consider submit at the JRWTC2020

What is new

The RTNS Steering Committee has decided to make some changes in the conference organization.
• RTNS is moving from Autumn to Spring. Therefore RTNS 2020 will take place in June 2020 with a submission deadline of 18th December 2019.
• An extra meeting between PC co-chairs and meta-reviewers is added to the review process to improve fairness.
• Transparency rules and evaluation criteria will be available on-line.
• Going back to the root of the conference, RTNS particularly welcomes first papers presenting early stage research with promising results.
• RTNS 2020 will have the option of artifact evaluation for the accepted papers.
The Steering committee would like to emphasize that RTNS is a friendly and inclusive conference with a great sense of community that presents excellent opportunities for discussion and collaboration.

Scope of the conference

Original unpublished papers on all aspects of real-time systems and networks are welcome. RTNS covers a wide-spectrum of topics in real-time and embedded systems, including, but not limited to:
• Real-time applications design and evaluation: automotive, avionics, space, railways, telecommunications, process control, multimedia.
• Real-time aspects of emerging smart systems: cyber-physical systems and emerging applications, real-time big data, real-time edge/fog and cloud computing, smart grid.
• Real-time system design and analysis: real-time tasks modeling, task/message scheduling, evaluation, mixed-criticality systems, Worst-Case Execution Time (WCET) analysis, quality of service, security.
• Software technologies for real-time systems: model-driven engineering, programming languages, compilers, WCET-aware compilation and parallelization strategies, middleware, Real-time Operating Systems (RTOS), virtualization, hypervisors.
• Formal specification and verification: application of formal models, such as model checking, satisfiability modulo theories or constraint programming, to solve real-time problems.
• Real-time distributed systems: fault tolerance, time synchronization, task/messages allocation, adaptability and reconfiguration, publisher/subscriber protocols, distributed real-time database
• Real-time networks: Networks on Chip (NoC), wired and wireless sensor and actuator networks, Time-Sensitive Networks (TSN), industrial IoT, SDN, 5G, end-to-end latency analysis.
• Hardware support for real-time systems: hardware/software co-design, power/temperature-aware techniques, design of predictable hardware, multi-core and many-core platforms, hardware accelerators, cache related issues, interconnect and memory.

Submission of papers –

The papers are limited to 10 two-column pages (not including references) in ACM conference format. The proceedings will be published by the ACM ICPS (approval pending). A selection of the best papers will receive recognition as outstanding papers, and will be highlighted as such in the proceedings. Authors of outstanding papers will be invited to submit an extended version of their work to a special issue of the Springer Real-Time Systems journal. Best papers and best student papers awards will be presented at the conference, along with an award for the best presentation.
(Note that submissions are eligible for the best student paper award provided that the first author is a student as of the submission deadline).
RTNS 2020 will have the artifact evaluation for the accepted papers, to guarantee the availability of source code and data to replicate the experiments.


General co-chairs

Liliana Cucu-Grosjean, INRIA, Paris, France
Roberto Medina, INRIA, Paris, France

PC co-chairs

Sebastian Altmeyer, University of Augsburg, Germany
Jean-Luc Scharbarg, Université de Toulouse, France

Publicity chair

Tam Chantem, Virginia Tech, USA

Steering Committee

Sanjoy Baruah, Washington University in St. Louis, USA
Liliana Cucu-Grosjean, INRIA, Paris, France
Robert I. Davis, University of York, United Kingdom
Sébastien Faucou, Université de Nantes, France
Laurent Georges, Université de Paris Est Créteil, France
Joël Goossens, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), Belgium
Isabelle Puaut, IRISA, Université de Rennes I, France
Emmanuel Grolleau, LIAS, ISAE-ENSMA, France
Jean-Luc Scharbarg, Université de Toulouse, France


Cercle National des Armées, Paris, France (

Important dates

Submission deadline: December 18, 2019 (firm)
Notification: March 9, 2020
Conference: 9th to 10th June, 2020

Comments are closed.